They still had plenty of covers to fill out the running time, but the Lennon- McCartney writing team was gathering steam and beginning to knock out pop classics as if they were pulling them out of thin air. "All My Loving" and "I Wanna Be your Man" come from this record, issued hurriedly to capitalize on English Beatlemania. But even when they were laying into some classic Chuck Berry, by this time the Beatles had acquired a unique sound in the blend of John's and Paul's voices, while George was coming on by leaps and bounds as a guitar player. While not absolutely essential, as a snapshot of a band in a place and time, With the Beatles is good for a smile. --Chris Nickson

Side A (LP)
1. It Won't Be Long Lennon/McCartney
2. All I've Got To Do Lennon/McCartney
3. All My Loving Lennon/McCartney
4. Don't Bother Me Harrison
5. Little Child Lennon/McCartney
6. Till There Was You Wilson
7. Please Mr. Postman Holland
Side B (LP)
8. Roll Over Beethoven Berry
9. Hold Me Tight Lennon/McCartney
10. You Really Got A Hold On Me W. Robinson
11. I Wanna Be Your Man Lennon/McCartney
12. Devil In Her Heart Drapkin
13. Not A Second Time Lennon/McCartney
14. Money Berry/Gordy/Bradford
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                        next album            
prev album      next album