Banged out in a hurry for the 1964 Christmas market, Beatles for Sale sometimes sounds it, loaded with ill-conceived covers and some of John Lennon's most self-loathing lyrics. On the other hand, the people doing the banging-out were the Beatles, whose instincts for what worked musically were so strong that they could basically do no wrong--any record that has "Baby's in Black," "I Don't Want to Spoil the Party" and the delectable "Eight Days a Week" on it is only "minor" in the most relative sense. And, though their voices had been frazzled a bit by constant touring, they revved them up for some joyous shouting, and indulged their fondness for American country in subtle, playful ways. - -Douglas Wolk

Side A (LP)
1. No Reply Lennon/McCartney
2. I'm A Loser Lennon/McCartney
3. Baby's In Black Lennon/McCartney
4. Rock And Roll Music Berry
5. I'll Follow The Sun Lennon/McCartney
6. Mr. Moonlight Johnson
7. Kansas City/Hey Hey Hey Hey Lieber/Stoller/Penniman
Side B (LP)
8. Eight Days A Week Lennon/McCartney
9. Words Of Love Holly
10. Honey Don't Perkins
11. Every Little Thing Lennon/McCartney
12. I Don't Want To Spoil The Party Lennon/McCartney
13. What You're Doing Lennon/McCartney
14. Everybody's Trying To Be My Baby Perkins
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                           next album            
prev album      next album