The Beatles' last days as a band were as productive as any major pop phenomenon that was about to split. After recording the ragged-but-right Let It Be, the group held on for this ambitious effort, an album that was to become their best-selling. Though all four contribute to the first side's writing, John Lennon's hard-rocking, "Come Together" and "I Want You (She's So Heavy)" make the strongest impression. A series of song fragments edited together in suite form dominates side two; its portentous, touching, official close ("Golden Slumbers"/"Carry That Weight"/"The End") is nicely undercut, in typical Beatles fashion, by Paul McCartney's cheeky "Her Majesty," which follows. --Rickey Wright

Side A (LP)
1. Come Together Lennon/McCartney
2. Something Harrison
3. Maxwell's Silver Hammer Lennon/McCartney
4. Oh! Darling Lennon/McCartney
5. Octopus's Garden Starkey
6. I Want You (She's So Heavy) Lennon/McCartney
Side B (LP)
7. Here Comes The Sun Harrison
8. Because Lennon/McCartney
9. You Never Give Me Your Money Lennon/McCartney
10. Sun King Lennon/McCartney
11. Mean Mr. Mustard Lennon/McCartney
12. Polythene Pam Lennon/McCartney
13. She Came In Through The Bathroom Window Lennon/McCartney
14. Golden Slumbers Lennon/McCartney
15. Carry That Weight Lennon/McCartney
16. The End Lennon/McCartney
17. Her Majesty Lennon/McCartney
                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                           next album            
prev album      next album